Day 13 – Dedication Page

I wrote a couple of days ago on Twitter that I will never get sick of the reactions that I get from from reading the dedications I give them at the beginnings of my books.

It’s an open secret that so many books simply wouldn’t happen without the beta readers who run through a manuscript even before it gets submitted to a publisher, hopefully, edited there. Like many writers, I absolutely love my beta readers. We’re a community, reading each others’ writing and picking it apart from the embarrassing first drafts all the way through.

And, after all’s said and done, many of them deserve so much more than me reading their manuscripts for them in return.

I’ve started making sure to send free copies of my books to the beta readers who made it happen after they are released. It’s a small thing, perhaps, but it’s important to me.

Leave a Reply

